Back to top
Back to top

Conference programme

Outline programme

Further information regarding speakers will be confirmed in due course.

Download a copy of the full programme.

8.45am Registration 
9.30 – 9.45am Welcome and introduction

Professor Lindsey Davies, President, Faculty of Public Health

9.45 – 10.30am

Plenary session 1 – Keynote speaker

Anna Soubry MP, Parliamentary under Secretary of State for Public Health

Chair: Professor Lindsey Davies, President, Faculty of Public Health

10.30 – 11.00am Coffee, exhibition and posters
11.00am – noon

Parallel session A
i) Mind the Public Health Leadership Gap
ii) Sustainability and Health
iii) Sexual Health

Noon – 1.30pm Lunch, exhibition and posters
12.30 - 1.30pm FPH AGM
Including the inauguration of the new FPH President
12.30pm Fringe Meeting - Prospective Part A Examiner Workshop
Come and find out what it's like to be an MFPH examiner, setting and marking examinations and operating at the heart of the Faculty's standard setting role.
1.35 – 2.35pm Parallel session B
i) Education and Training
ii) Commissioning
iii) Mental Health
2.45 - 3.45pm

Parallel session C
i) Promoting capacity and best practice in public health
ii) Communication
iii) Behaviour Change

3.45 - 4.15pm Coffee, exhibition and posters
4.15 - 5.15pm Plenary session 2 – The Big Public Health Debate
Public mental health and social inequalities: cause or effect?

The debate aims to look at the various impacts on mental health and wellbeing, from the impact of large-scale policies as well as individual aspects (the ‘cause’) but also how poor mental health can also be a driver of social inequalities (the ‘effect’).

  • Professor Sarah Stewart-Brown, University of Warwick
  • Dr Lynne Friedli, Freelance Researcher
  • Professor Andrew Oswald, University of Warwick
  • Professor David Pilgrim, University of Liverpool
Chair: Professor John Ashton, Faculty of Public Health
5.15pm Closing remarks and poster presentation
Professor John Ashton, FPH President
5.30pm Conference close


Karen Goodwin
Tel: 020 7935 0243

Back to top

Pages in this section