Back to top
Back to top

Specialty training

The approved, definitive CCT curricula and associated assessment systems for specialty training were approved by the Postgraduate Medical and Education Training Board (PMETB) in autumn 2006. These curricula make reference to previously used terms such as RITA and Specialist Registrars. However, the terms as described in the Department of Health's 'A Guide to Postgraduate Specialty Training in the UK' ('The Gold Guide') replace these terms for registrars appointed to the programmes from 1 August 2007 as follows:

  • Specialist training is now referred to as specialty training.
  • Specialist Registrar (SpR) is now referred to as Specialty Registrar (StR) through all years of the training programme and is applicable to all those in training.
  • A Guide to Postgraduate Specialty Training in the UK ('The Gold Guide') is applicable to all specialty training.
  • Record of in-training assessment (RITA) and VTR forms have now been replaced by the Annual Review of Competence Progression (ARCP).

The 2007 Public Health Curriculum [pdf]

The 2010 Public Health Curriculum [pdf]

The 2007 and 2010 Public Health Curriculum,  approved by the General Medical Council (GMC) and the UK Public Health Register (UKPHR) effective from 1 August 2007 ad 1 August 2010 respectively can be found here. A Change Log has also been developed to highlight all changes made to the curriculum since 2007 and can be found here.

As of November 2012 the GMC has issued a statement for Specialty Registrars regarding moving  to the current curriculum. Please refer to the document, GMC statement 2012, for further information.

Back to top

Pages in this section