Clinical excellence awards 2021

Advisory Committee on Clinical Excellence Awards (ACCEA)

Clinical Excellence Awards are awarded to NHS (England and Wales) consultants and academic GPs who perform 'over and above' the standard expected of their role.

The Faculty of Public Health is one of the nominating bodies for ACCEA, and a FPH committee reviews and scores (based on ACCEA scoring criteria) these applications. The Faculty makes direct nomination rankings to ACCEA for national levels, gold, silver, bronze and renewal. 

The 2021 round opens Monday 7 December 2020.

All forms and guidance documentation can be found on the ACCEA Website. The Faculty has published a short guide on the application process but it is vital that you read the guidance issued by ACCEA NHS Consultants’ Clinical Excellence Awards Scheme Guide for Applicants. 

Nationally and across specialties, women and members from ethnic minority groups are under represented amongst applicants for awards and the Faculty is especially keen to encourage these members to apply. 

Platinum awards

Applications and citations for new Platinum awards need to be sent to to no later than 10.00am on Thursday 21 January 2021. These are then sent to the Academy of Royal Colleges. To maximise your chances of success you must ensure that you are able to score in each of the five domains.

Gold, Silver, Bronze and renewals awards

Applicants who wish to apply for Faculty support MUST submit their application to by 10.00am on Thursday 18 February 2021. Applications will not be accepted after this date.


Please note that a citation must be submitted to FPH with your application for all new award applications and applications for awards at the next level. If you are seeking to renew an award at the same level, you will not require a citation to support this renewal. The maximum character limit for citations is 1,350 characters including spaces. Please use the Microsoft Word template linked below, and please be aware of the maximum character limit. The author of your citation must be a FPH member in good standing, who is familiar with your work and its impact. This citation must be for the exclusive use of the Faculty. The content of your citation will be provided by the person who agreed to author it, but the citation itself will be submitted centrally by FPH, in accordance with the current ACCEA guidelines.

Citation form 2021

Please note the following significant changes that the ACCEA have made to the application forms:

  • Removed the additional forms for Domains 3, 4 and 5.
  • Increased the character limit to 2,000 characters for these domains, maintaining the separate publication section of 1,350 characters in Domain 4.
  • Removed employer ratings for individual Domains and the employer statement. Employers will continue to select from 3 levels of support (Supported, Qualified Support, Not Supported) and a justifying statement will still be required if the application is Not Supported or has Qualified Support.
  • Removed third-party citations. National Nominating Bodies (Royal Colleges and Specialist Societies) will retain the ability to provide a citation to accompany those applications that they rank.