Skip navigation

Knowledge exchange webinar on globally relevant lessons learnt in the implementation of competency-based education and training for a strengthened public health workforce in South Africa and UK

13th April 2023, 12:00am - 12:00am , Online event

Time:

London 11:00
Accra 10:00
Geneva 12:00
Johannesburg 12:00
Addis Ababa 13:00
Cairo 13:00
Beijing 18:00

Aim of the session:

This session will engage participants in the roadmap developed by WHO and partner organisations to strengthen global public health workforce. The session aims to share globally relevant lessons, learnt from the UK and South Africa, in the implementation of competency-based education and training as an approach to developing the skills and abilities of the public health workforce in UK and South Africa.

Background:

In May 2022, the College of Public Health Medicine South Africa (CPHM) and UK Faculty of Public Health (FPH) signed a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) which served as a broad outline for the cooperation between the organisations and provided a basis on which the organisations shall engage to implement a sustainable collaboration.

In addition to this MoU, members of both organisations have been supporting efforts by the WHO (Geneva) and partner organisations to develop and implement a global public health and emergency workforce roadmap. The roadmap sets out a five-year vision to strengthen capacity across all WHO member states for a multidisciplinary workforce to undertake the essential public health functions (EPHFs), including emergency preparedness and response.

Language:

This webinar will be delivered in English.

Who should attend:

This session is aimed at a global audience with interest in public health workforce development at national, regional and global levels.

You do not need to be FPH member to attend.

Next Upcoming Events
COP28 debrief: what’s next for public health
13th Dec 2023 - 1:00pm , Online with in-person hubs
Become a Member

Become a Member

FPH is the professional home for public health in the UK and abroad. We support over 5,000 members across all career stages enabling them to drive the profession forward and achieve our vision of improving public health.

More details