Training Programmes

Training Programmes are run in all parts of the UK, in demarcated geographical areas overseen by a Postgraduate Dean (PGD) - often known as “deaneries”. The delivery of public health training is overseen by a Head of School (HoS) and/or a Training Programme Director (TPD) reporting to the PGD.

Training placements will usually be within one deanery but may be across deaneries in special circumstances. Please see the Out of Programme page for further details. Registrars will usually complete all their training within one deanery but may move in exceptional circumstances (see Interdeanery Transfers below).

The Head of School is appointed by the PGD to lead the School of Public Health and give strategic support to development of the whole public health workforce. This includes not just specialty training but also public health practitioners and the wider public health workforce. In some areas there is one or more TPDs to manage the day to day operations of specialty training, and in others the HoS covers this role too.

Area 

Head of School (HoS) 

Email 

Defence Medical Sevices 

Carl Griffin 

Carl.Griffin109@mod.gov.uk  

Northern Ireland 

Denise O’Hagan 

denise.o'hagan@hscni.net 

Scotland 

Cathy Johnman 

Cathy.Johnman@glasgow.ac.uk  

Wales 

Rhianwen Stiff 

rhianwen.stiff@wales.nhs.uk  

North East   

Miriam Davidson 

miriam.davidson@darlington.gov.uk 

North West   

Rebecca Wagstaff 

Rebecca.Wagstaff@phe.gov.uk   

Yorkshire and the Humber   

Val Barker 

Val.Barker@hee.nhs.uk   

West Midlands   

Rob Cooper 

rob.cooper@hee.nhs.uk  

East Midlands   

Rob Howard 

rob.howard@leicester.gov.uk   

East of England   

Jan Yates 

janyates@janyatesassociates.com   

London, Kent Surrey and Sussex   

Rachel Wells 

Rachel.wells@hee.nhs.uk  

Rachel.Wells@Barnet.gov.uk   

Thames Valley   

Jill Morris 

jill.morris@phe.gov.uk   

Wessex   

Julie Parkes 

Julie.Parkes@hee.nhs.uk   

jules@soton.ac.uk   

South West   

Maggie Rae 

maggie.rae@phe.gov.uk   

The training programme director (TPD) is appointed by the Postgraduate Dean and has a key role in managing the specialty training programme across a geographical area. The fundamental role is that of co-ordinator and communicator between registrars, the Postgraduate Dean and Head of School, the local Public Health Specialty School and the Faculty of Public Health (FPH). 

The key roles and responsibilities of a TPD include: 

  • Administration and management of the training programme(s) on behalf of the  

    Postgraduate Dean. 

  •  Participation in the recruitment and appointment process. 
  •  An initial assessment of the Specialty Registrar's learning needs and the most 

    appropriate placements for each registrar at the start of and throughout training. 

  •  Induction into public health training in general. 
  •  Overseeing the delivery of the training. 
  •  Assisting in the appointment, training and updating of educational supervisors. 
  •  Monitoring and inspection of training placements. 

 

Area 

Training Programme Director (TPD) 

Email 

Defence Medical Services 

Carl Griffin 

Carl.Griffin109@mod.gov.uk  

Northern Ireland 

Denise O’Hagan 

denise.o'hagan@hscni.net 

Scotland 

Catherine Johnman 

Cathy.Johnman@glasgow.ac.uk  

Wales 

Sian Griffiths 

Sian.Griffiths6@wales.nhs.uk  

North East   

Kirsty Foster 

Kirsty.Foster@phe.gov.uk 

North West   

Judith Mills 

Julia Rosser 

Lynn Donkin  

judith.mills@blackpool.gov.uk 

Julia.Rosser@halton.gov.uk 

Lynn.Donkin@bolton.gov.uk  

Yorkshire and the Humber   

Shirley Brierley 

Susan Hird 

Shirley.Brierley@hee.nhs.uk  

Susan.Hird@sheffield.gov.uk 

West Midlands   

Gordana Djuric 

Ankush Mittal 

Clare Walker 

gordanadjuric@warwickshire.gov.uk 

Ankush.Mittal@wolverhampton.gov.uk 

clare.walker@hee.nhs.uk  

East Midlands   

Julie O’Boyle 

JulieOBoyle@leicester.gov.uk  

East of England   

Sara Godward 

Anne Swift 

sara.godward1@nhs.net 

Aks76@medschl.cam.ac.uk  

London, Kent Surrey and Sussex   

Eva Hrobonova

Ellen Schwartz 

Margot Nicholls 

Judith Stanton 

Rachel Wells 

eva.hrobonova@hee.nhs.uk  

Ellen.Schwartz@croydon.gov.uk   

Margot.Nicholls@phe.gov.uk   

Judith.Stanton@hee.nhs.uk  

Rachel.wells@barnet.gov.uk 

Rachel.wells@hee.nhs.uk  

Thames Valley   

Jill Morris 

jill.morris@phe.gov.uk   

Wessex   

Julie Parkes 

Julie.Parkes@hee.nhs.uk  jules@soton.ac.uk   

South West   

Maggie Rae 

maggie.rae@phe.gov.uk   

For further information and useful resources for TPDs please see following links:

- Curriculum
- Enrolment
- CCT
- Training downloads
- E portfolio

Inter-Deanery Transfer (IDT)

The National Inter-Deanery Transfer (IDT) process has been put in place to support registrars who have had an unforeseen and significant change in circumstances since commencement of their current training programme. The process is managed by the National IDT team (Health Education South London) on behalf of the Conference of Postgraduate Medical Deans (COPMeD), Health Education England (HEE) and all UK regions. If you are planning to apply for an IDT process, please visit the website for guidance.

 

Top